This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1932 (2010)

A twist on Jane Austen’s classic, Pride and Prejudice. Elizabeth Bennet has always led a pampered existence as the daughter of a university professor in the Midwest until the safety of her world dissolves around her due to unforeseen adversity. Amidst the ensuing upheaval, what—and who—might she discover as she rebuilds her life in the sleepy, backwater town of Meryton? Available in Kindle and print versions.

Find Wonder in All Things (2012)

James Marshall and Laurel Elliot are out of sync. After a whirlwind summer romance during their youth, he is ready to zoom ahead to Happily Ever After, but she is persuaded by family pressures and her own doubts and uncertainties to remain behind. Now, their paths cross once again, but it appears both have moved on with their lives. Could a spark from the past still ignite between them?  Available in Kindle and print versions.

Undeceived (2016)

During the last gasp of the Cold War, Elizabeth Bennet, a young counterintelligence officer, embarks on an assignment that would make her late father, a fallen CIA operative, proud. She transfers to Europe to investigate the legendary William Darcy, an officer who’s suspected of being a double agent. Nothing is as it seems, however, and the closer Elizabeth gets to the truth about Darcy, the more she spirals into danger. Available in Kindle and print versions.

The Journey Home (2017)

Georgiana Darcy has left girlhood far behind her. A young, single mother with two small daughters, she escaped a precarious existence. Now she has returned to her ancestral home, ready to rebuild her life. Her brother, William, welcomed her with open arms and helped her back on her feet. But home is more than a place—it’s a state of mind, and Georgiana has a journey of the heart ahead of her. As her brother falls in love with Elizabeth, the new girl in town, Georgiana finds herself drawn to William’s long-time friend, Sheriff Richard Fitzwilliam, a widower fifteen years her senior. Richard would never want her, or so she believes, but when he’s near, her sorrow vanishes. When Georgiana’s past comes roaring back to haunt her, can Richard and his kind, gentle ways help see her through?

 The Journey Home, a companion piece to the award-winning novel 1932, is a stand-alone “sidequel” novella—a story of self-discovery, acceptance, and romance that details one woman’s journey back from despair and forward to her future.

Now available in Kindle, iBooks, Kobo, and Google Play formats.

I Could Write a Book: a Modern Variation of Jane Austen’s “Emma” (Coming Sept 2017)

“Emma Woodhouse, handsome, clever and rich…”

Thus began Jane Austen’s classic, a light and lively tale set in an English village two hundred years ago. Yet every era has its share of Emmas: young women trying to find themselves in their own corners of the world.

I Could Write a Book is the story of a self-proclaimed modern woman: Emma Katherine Woodhouse, a 1970s co-ed whose life is pleasant, ordered and predictable, if a bit confining.

Her friend George Knightley is a man of the world who’s come home to fulfill his destiny: run his father’s thriving law practice and oversee the sprawling Donwell Farms, his family legacy in Central Kentucky horse country.

Since childhood, George’s and Emma’s lives have meshed and separated time and again. But now they’re adults with grown-up challenges and obligations. As Emma orchestrates life in quaint Highbury, George becomes less amused with her antics and struggles with a growing attraction to the young woman she’s become.

Rich with humor, poignancy and the camaraderie of life in a small, Southern town, I Could Write a Book is a coming of age romance with side helpings of self-discovery, friendship, and finding true love in the most unlikely places.

Short Story Anthologies

Sun-Kissed: Effusions of Summer (2015)

“Northanger Revisited 2015”

Northanger Abbey takes a modern day turn at a fictionalized seaside in Georgia in this  whimsical collection of short stories inspired by all things summer.

The Darcy Monologues (2017)

“I, Darcy”

All his life, William Darcy has battled high expectations from women, a result of sharing the name of the most famous literary hero in English literature. When he meets Lynley at a Jane Austen convention hotel, sparks fly, but an enduring flame might ignite—if he can learn from the original Mr. Darcy’s mistakes. Part of a 15-story anthology where Mr. Darcy has his “share of the conversation”.